Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ever heard of short films or better still, ever watched a short film? I had heard of shorts before but was quite indifferent to them until I watched the Disney and Pixar short film animation in Epcot. It had its debut just a few short days before I arrived and it was absolutely superb! I found it entertaining, educational and especially inspiring. The first short we were shown had a combination of black and white and color. Mickey was trying to save Minnie from a mean and unsavory character and in their wild goose chase, we travelled between the realm of black and white and color repeatedly. The use of the two mediums combined with the 3D effects really blew my mind and I felt like I was in a story book. The final short we watched was La Lune. I was amazed at how such good story telling was possible without a dialogue. For the first time, I became aware of how shorts push the bounds of cinematic storytelling and it really is an impressive art.

I learnt how animated films had actually stem from a group of individuals who were passionate about making short films. They brought inanimate objects to life and modeled movement with existing technology. This ingenious idea was an instant hit and eventually went on to inspire the renown Toy Story! A memorable quote from the clip was: “The art challenges technology and technology inspires the the art.” I love art and I love technology. And one day, I would like to create a short film!